I Need a Voice

I am so envious of people who can write really creatively and express themselves really well. I’m not one of those people. I’m not a creative writer or poet, I don’t even journal or blog. Usually, I just keep a small notebook of extremely random notes. I never write anything other than academic essays, which take up most of my time. So why did I start a blog you ask? Because I need a voice.

I’m a social ‘scientist.’ Really I just like people, watching them and observing the most obvious things. There’s a fancy name for people like me who do these things and then write about it: anthropologists. I wouldn’t really call anthropology a science, but I guess some people actually take it to the scientific level. Me, I just focus on what I find to be the most interesting aspects of people and society. I love talking about culture, development, the third world, Africa, sex and gender, women, the body, women’s bodies, race and ethnicity, colonialism, capitalism and ethics. And somehow there is an anthropology to all these things: that is why I am so in love with it!

It feels like every other day somebody asks me what I do or what I study. I usually hesitate to answer this question, or at least I prepare myself for some seriously blank stares and/or confused faces. Normally I just resort to a really general answer like ‘Social Health’ but that doesn’t help much. If they insist, then I tell them that I’m doing my Master’s in Medical Anthropology. The truth is, there is nothing clinical or medical about my course. The ‘Medical’ part is a mis-nomer which usually makes my degree sound way more cool (and difficult) and makes me appear much, much smarter than I am (trust me). But really, I’m interested in the social factors which influence people’s health. Like why do the first and third world suffer from completely different health problems?  Or why is somebody (media or state for example) always trying to control women’s bodies?  

Right now, I’m a full-time student. An academic. I’m a bit of a nerd, I admit. I AM STARTING MY THESIS THIS SEMESTER! Eeeeeek! But I feel like all I ever do is write essays for a grade. I never get a chance to engage with stuff outside of class, I don’t ask my own questions to enough people around me. I rarely get to sit down with someone and have a stimulating conversation about real issues or raise questions about something I saw on the news or read in a book/magazine. I miss having those late-night debates with friends that really make me think. And I miss sharing my thoughts and hearing from other people.

Anywho, this is about to be the RANDOMEST blog ever! Please be gracious =)

CMN

~ by misswretched on July 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “I Need a Voice”

  1. My dear sister:

    You write from such an enlightened perspective. Even though you think your field of study may not be as exciting as it sounds, I think it sounds pretty damn cool. Really, you get to people watch and what job could be better than that? You are one of the smartest women I know. You’re beautiful both inside and out (a rare package in this day and age). Continue to stay driven and focused and you will reap the benefits sooner than you think. No mighty ocean can diminish the amount of love and respect I have for you. Stay blessed 🙂

  2. P.S. I love the title of your blog…so creative!!!

Leave a Reply

 
